2016
SH7882 : Tedder House
taken 9 years ago, near to Llandudno, Conwy, Wales
This is 1 of 2 images, with title Tedder House in this square

Tedder House
From 1963 until 2004 26, Augusta Street on the corner of Trinity Avenue housed the Royal Airforce Association's; Llandudno branch. Previously the building which dates from 1894 SH7882 : Date Stone on Tedder House had been the "Grangemore Hotel" run by Mrs G Harrison and was formerly the "Raven Boarding Accommodation".
It was renamed Tedder House after Air Chief Marshal Sir Arthur Tedder (1890-1967). Lord Tedder served under Eisenhower as the Deputy Supreme Commander of the Allied Expeditionary Force. Working closely with RAF Bomber Command and the US Strategic Air Forces in Europe, Lord Tedder was influential in shaping 1944 -1945 bombing campaigns in which he applied his strategy � nicknamed the "Tedder Carpet"- of supporting land forces using concentrated carpet bombing over specified areas of 1000 yards by 300 yards.
In 2007 planning permission was granted to turn it into two maisonettes and two flats but the conversion didn't materialise. In 2014-15 it became "The Haus of Helfa" SH7882 : Tedder House/Haus of Helfa, part of Call (Culture Action Llandudno), a Social Enterprise, which is an innovative partnership between Mostyn Estates and Helfa Gelf Cyf. It was used by a dozen local artists to house and create various art installations.
Images and recollections of Tedder House can be seen at Link
It is planned to re-open in 2016 as the Freehaus Art School.
It was renamed Tedder House after Air Chief Marshal Sir Arthur Tedder (1890-1967). Lord Tedder served under Eisenhower as the Deputy Supreme Commander of the Allied Expeditionary Force. Working closely with RAF Bomber Command and the US Strategic Air Forces in Europe, Lord Tedder was influential in shaping 1944 -1945 bombing campaigns in which he applied his strategy � nicknamed the "Tedder Carpet"- of supporting land forces using concentrated carpet bombing over specified areas of 1000 yards by 300 yards.
In 2007 planning permission was granted to turn it into two maisonettes and two flats but the conversion didn't materialise. In 2014-15 it became "The Haus of Helfa" SH7882 : Tedder House/Haus of Helfa, part of Call (Culture Action Llandudno), a Social Enterprise, which is an innovative partnership between Mostyn Estates and Helfa Gelf Cyf. It was used by a dozen local artists to house and create various art installations.
Images and recollections of Tedder House can be seen at Link

It is planned to re-open in 2016 as the Freehaus Art School.